Este artículo ha sido traducido por nosotros en Español

NEW BRUNSWICK, NJ—The City Council's five members face the public twice every month at their regular meetings, and they are each paid $9,000 annually to do so.

Members of the public are permitted to ask questions and give comments on every law being passed by the council at the appropriate time on the meeting's agenda. At the end of the meetings, the public is invited to ask questions or give comments on any topic or topics they desire.

The meetings are not televised, but videos are available online.

This year, two seats on the Council and the Mayor's seat are up for re-election.  The two candidates up for re-election are Council President Rebecca Escobar and Vice President Kevin Egan.

Both are running mates of Mayor James Cahill, who typically does not attend the meetings.

Meetings are held on the top floor of City Hall, located at 78 Bayard Street in downtown. Parking is provided free to anyone attending the meeting in the lot behind City Hall.

The Council's meeting schedule for 2014 is as follows:

  • Friday January 3 @ 4pm
  • Weds. January 15 @ 630pm
  • Weds. Feb 5  @ 630pm
  • Weds. February 19  @ 630pm
  • Weds. March 5  @ 630pm
  • Weds. March 19  @ 630pm
  • Weds. April 2  @ 630pm
  • Weds. April 16  @ 630pm
  • Weds. May 7  @ 630pm
  • Weds. May 21 @ 630pm
  • Weds. June 4 @ 530pm
  • Weds. June 16 @ 530pm
  • Weds. July 2 @ 530pm
  • Weds. July 16 @ 530pm
  • Weds. August 6 @ 530pm
  • Weds. August 20 @ 530pm
  • Weds. September 3 @630pm
  • Weds. September 17 @ 630pm
  • Weds. October 1 @ 630pm
  • Weds. October 15 @ 630pm
  • Weds. November 5 @ 630pm
  • Weds. November 19 @ 630pm
  • Weds. December 3 @ 630pm
  • Weds. December 17 @ 630pm
  • Tues. December 30 @ 530pm

The deadline to submit petitions to run for City Council as a Democrat or a Republican is March 31.  Independents have until June 3 to decide to run.

The local election will be held on Tuesday November 4.

Editor at New Brunswick Today | 732-993-9697 |

Charlie is the founder and editor of New Brunswick Today, and the winner of the Awbrey Award for Community-Oriented Local Journalism. He is a proud Rutgers University journalism graduate and a community organizer, and was an independent candidate for Mayor of New Brunswick in 2018.